Hans Luedemann Pianist and composer Hans Lüdemann from Hoffnungsthal near Cologne (Köln) is at home in different musical worlds. He goes his own way on his search for contemporary forms of expression and knows no borders. His roots in European and Jazz tradition are combined with African influences. These become most obvious in his collaborations with African musicians. But in a subtle way, they also have become part of his very personal style of improvising and composing music.

Current projects are the "TRIO IVOIRE" with Aly Keita (Balaphon) and Chander Sardjoe (drums), the solo program "African Variations", duos with trumpet player Reiner Winterschladen and Kora player Tata Dindin. In the group RISM that exists since 1990 in different sizes up to a septet, Lüdemann has found many fruitful connections between improvised and composed music.

Hans Lüdemann is a steady guest on international concert stages and festivals. He has toured worldwide. His music is documented on over 20 CDs, among them "Aphorisms" (1991), "The natural piano" (1994), "Futurism" (1997), "Kora meets piano" (2000), "African Variations" (2003) and "Touching Africa" (2006).

As a composer, Lüdemann has worked for many instruments and settings, from piano music and chamber music to the orchestral piece "Geschichte 2" and "Verloren ins weite Blau" a song cycle with orchestra. Commissions from WDR, Hessischer Rundfunk, Ensemble Indigo.

Hans Luedemann

Der Pianist und Komponist Hans Lüdemann aus Hoffnungsthal bei Köln bewegt sich in verschiedenen musikalischen Welten. Er geht einen eigenen Weg auf der Suche nach zeitgenössischen Ausdrucksformen und kennt dabei keine Grenzen. Seine Wurzeln in europäischer Tradition und Moderne und im Jazz verbinden sich mit afrikanischen Einflüssen. Besonders hörbar werden die afrikanischen Farben in der Zusammenarbeit mit afrikanischen Musikern. Doch auf subtile Art fliessen diese auch in seine persönliche Improvisations- und Kompositionsweise ein.

Aktuelle Projekte sind das "TRIO IVOIRE" mit Aly Keita (Balaphon) und Chander Sardjoe (Schlagzeug), das Solo-Programm "African Variations", Duos mit dem Trompeter Reiner Winterschladen und dem Kora-Spieler Tata Dindin. In der Gruppe RISM, die seit 1990 in wechselnden Besetzungen bis hin zum Septett existiert, hat Lüdemann vielschichtige Verbindungen zwischen komponierter und improvisierter Musik gefunden.

Hans Lüdemann ist ständiger Gast auf internationalen Konzertbühnen und Festivals. Tourneen haben ihn um die Welt geführt. Seine Musik ist auf mehr als 20 CD-Veröffentlichungen dokumentiert, darunter "Aphorisms" (1991), "the natural piano" (1994), "Futurism" (1997), "Kora meets piano" (2000), "African Variations" (2003) und "Touching Africa" (2006)

Als Komponist hat Lüdemann für viele Instrumente und Besetzungen gearbeitet, von Klaviermusik über Kammermusik bis hin zu dem Orchesterstück "Geschichte 2" und "Verloren ins weite Blau", einem Gesangszyklus mit großer Instrumentalbesetzung. Auftragswerke für WDR, Hessischer Rundfunk, Ensemble Indigo.